Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Brian Eno Series, #4: David Bowie- Low (1977) Ryko Au20 Edition (Gold Disc) MP3 & FLAC

"Sometimes you get so lonely; sometimes you get nowhere. I've lived all over the world; I've left every place."

Low, the first installment of Bowie's so-called "Berlin Trilogy," marks the culmination of his metamorphosis from polygendered Glam-Rock icon to cool maestro of avant-pop, and when listening to this album, it's hard to believe that it is only three years removed from the Glam-meets-Cabaret of Aladdin Sane. Meanwhile, Brian Eno was undergoing his own metamorphosis, recording the last of his "pop" albums, the transitional Before and After Science, while collaborating with Bowie on these sessions in Berlin. Not unlike Eno's album, Low is comprised of two distinct halves: jagged guitar-pop married to Kraftwerk-inspired synthetics and dark, atmospheric Eno-esque ambient electronic pieces. It is evident throughout the album that Eno brings out the best in Bowie, allowing him to indulge in the kind of experimentalism that his Ziggy persona made impossible, and in the process, they come up with the blueprint for the dreams of a thousand Post-Punk bands to come.

Low (Ryko Au20 Remastered Edition)
 1. Speed of Life  (2:46)
 2. Breaking Glass  (1:52)
 3. What in the World  (2:23)
 4. Sound and Vision  (3:05)
 5. Always Crashing in the Same Car  (3:33)
 6. Be My Wife  (2:58)
 7. A New Career in a New Town  (2:53)
 8. Warszawa  (6:23)
 9. Art Decade  (3:46)
10. Weeping Wall  (3:28)
11. Subterraneans  (5:39
-Bonus Tracks-
12. Some Are  (3:24)
13. All Saints  (3:25)
14. Sound and Vision (1991 Remix)  (4:43)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.