Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Brian Eno Series, #3: Brian Eno- Before and After Science (1977) MP3 & FLAC

"It will shine and it will shudder, as I guide it with my rudder, on its metalled ways."

While the first half of Before and After Science still bears faint traces of the avant Glam-Rock of Eno's early solo albums, the second half is clearly grounded in his burgeoning interest in ambient music. While this prevents the album from knitting together as an organic whole, it is, nevertheless, Eno's most diverse and forward looking "pop" album (and his last of the 70s). This is partly due to having reportedly recorded over a hundred tracks during the sessions for the album, as well as to Eno's unusual production technique, in which assembled tracks were completed by eliminating layers of sound rather than the more traditional approach of taking a basic structure and adding layers of sound. While not quite as essential as Eno's first three solo albums, Before and After Science is far more indicative of where Eno's restless muse was heading next.

Before and After Science (2004 Remastered Edition)
 1. No One Receiving  (3:52)
 2. Backwater  (3:43)
 3. Kurt's Rejoinder  (2:55)
 4. Energy Fools the Magician  (2:55)
 5. King's Lead Hat  (3:56)
 6. Here He Comes  (5:38)
 7. Julie with...  (6:19)
 8. By This River  (3:03)
 9. Through Hollow Lands (For Harold Budd)  (3:56)
10. Spider and I  (4:10)


  1. Do you have Brian Eno's 77 Million Paintings? If not I can upload it for you.

  2. Hi, actually I just recently downloaded it as a torrent and haven't checked it out yet. It sounds very interesting


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.