Friday, January 21, 2011

Roxy Music- Country Life (1974) MP3 & FLAC -For Jo Bangles-

"There are many things that I could say to try and comfort you, but I know the words you like to hear are simply, 'I love you'."

Roxy Music's fourth album (second post-Eno) just might be their artistic peak and sits in their discography as the last of their shape-shifting art-glam masterpieces. After Country Life, Roxy Music, despite some indisputable high points, would always seem more like a Bryan Ferry solo project than anything else. Like all of Roxy Music's best work, Country Life teeters on the edge of several creatively fertile contradictions. Chief among these is the lyrical tension between appearance and essence, glam facade and singer-songwriter introspection. This is even apparent in the infamous album cover, featuring two scantily-clad German models peering seductively into the camera while ironically covering various body parts in mock-modesty. This image can be read as a metaphor for the "upside down" introspection of songs like "Out of the Blue," which, on the surface, can seem like an ode to the transformative nature of love, but soon the song deconstructs this romantic notion, ironically stating, "throwaway lines often ring true." Roxy Music's initial run of albums are vastly underrated and contain some of the most ambitious popular music committed to tape during an era, the early seventies, rife with great music.

Country Life (2000 HDCD Remastered Edition)
 1. The Thrill of It All  (6:24)
 2. Three and Nine  (4:04)
 3. All I Want Is You  (2:53)
 4. Out of the Blue  (4:46)
 5. If It Takes All Night  (3:12)
 6. Bitter Sweet  (4:50)
 7. Triptych  (3:09)
 8. Casanova  (3:27)
 9. A Really Good Time  (3:45)
10. Prairie Rose  (5:12)


  1. Jo Bangles, a gift from the magic FLAC fairy: Secret Machines-

  2. J. Alfred Prüfrock (Jo Bangles)January 21, 2011 at 4:11 PM

    Ohh Yeaa! W0OT! It is like flac christmas today. The drive is filling up have to send some stuff to flash drive or another machine. The Roxy Music I had was incomplete missing more than half the album. Thanks a bunch for these and S.M. album! If the magic flac fairy feels generous see if Electric Wizard-Let Us Prey is in the magic bag.

  3. you're welcome. Please hit the "follow" button at the top of the righthand column and I'll take a look around for Electric Wizard. I'll post the selftitled Bunnymen remaster in a few days.

  4. Jo's flac smoking jacket (bangles)January 22, 2011 at 12:34 AM

    Cool! Eye don't have any google or yahoo accounts, not sure if you need those to follow. A while back found Echo & The Bunnies-Heaven up Here and Nick Drake-Pink Moon in the dollar bin at the bookstore grabbed those up and made em into free lossless audio codecs! It is 6 degrees out and half a foot of snow, great flac weather.

  5. I think it does require a Google, Yahoo, Twitter, or some other account to follow. Anyway, I found the Electric Wizard FLAC and will provide the link in these comments tomorrow. I'm in Southern California (US), so it's more like 75 degrees outside (well, it's night now, so it's colder, but nothing like what you enduring). Cheers

  6. Jo (gimme some flac jack) Bangles, here's your Electric Wizard link: PW: killingmoonmusic

  7. Jo Jo the Idiot Circus BoyJanuary 23, 2011 at 8:36 AM

    Thanks for the E.W. it is my fave album of theirs besides Dopethrone and the last with the original powertrio line up. May the musik always smile upon you.

  8. thanks Jo Jo, The Bunnymen should be up in a day or two

  9. I like your site! To avoid your blog to be closed you can use, links live longer and sites live longer at Blogger, you have stats of the people using it and you earn money too! The Firefox addon they hve is great and you can manage all links from there, it changes your links on the form when posting, you don't have to worry about it! try it! Thanks for your work i enjoy your blog! Silvia


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.