Saturday, January 22, 2011

Wire- Pink Flag (1977) 1995 Japanese Ed. (17 Bonus Tracks) MP3 & FLAC

"His atoms were excited, and he glowed in the dark. The boiling boy was a picture of confusion, but he had the advantage of a cold start heart."

Wire's debut, Pink Flag, is a brilliant reminder of how vibrant and diverse the Punk movement of the late 1970s really was. While this movement is often characterized in terms of bands such as The Ramones and The Sex Pistols, both of whom never strayed far from a bare-bones Garage-Rock template, other bands pursued a more innovative sound by using this template as a foundation to be deconstructed and re-imagined. On Pink Flag, it is clear from the very first song, "Reuters," that Wire is of the latter camp. Taking the Punk ethos several steps further than most of their peers, Wire consistently reject traditional song structure on their debut by stubbornly refusing to deliver the verse/chorus movements and repeated measures that have come to virtually define "Rock" music. While the songs are brief and often abrupt, Wire's minimalist approach allows the album a depth and complexity quite unprecedented in Punk recordings of the period. By turning listener expectations inside out, Wire's debut album not only rejects the tired tropes of mainstream Rock, but also challenges the Punk movement to reject its own assumptions about itself.

Pink Flag (1995 Toshiba Remastered Edition)
 1. Reuters  (3:03)
 2. Field Day for the Sundays  (0:28)
 3. Three Girl Rhumba  (1:23)
 4. Ex Lion Tamer  (2:17)
 5. Lowdown  (2:26)
 6. Start to Move  (1:12)
 7. Brazil  (0:40)
 8. It's So Obvious  (0:53)
 9. Surgeon's Girl  (1:14)
10. Pink Flag  (3:50)
11. The Commercial  (0:49)
12. Straight Line  (0:44)
13. 106 Beats That  (1:12)
14. Mr. Suit  (1:25)
15. Strange  (3:58)
16. Fragile  (1:18)
17. Mannequin  (2:37)
18. Different to Me  (0:43)
19. Champs  (1:46)
20. Feeling Called Love  (1:21)
21. 12 X U  (1:55)
-Bonus Tracks-
22. Dot Dash  (2:25)
23. Options R  (1:35)
24. Love Ain't Polite  (1:07)
25. Oh No Not So  (1:36)
26. It's the Motive  (1:22)
27. Practice Makes Perfect  (3:48)
28. Sand in My Joints  (1:49)
29. Stablemate  (2:16)
30. I Feel Mysterious Today  (1:40)
31. Underwater Experiences  (3:15)
32. Mary Is a Dyke (Live at The Roxy, London, April 1977)  (1:06)
33. Too True (Live at The Roxy, London, April 1977)  (1:05)
34. Just Don't Care (Live at The Roxy, London, April 1977)  (1:22)
35. TV (Live at The Roxy, London, April 1977)  (1:25)
36. New York City (Live at The Roxy, London, April 1977)  (1:12)
37. After Midnight (Live at The Roxy, London, April 1977)  (1:28)
38. Pink Flag  (2:35)


  1. f*cking awesome, thank you!

  2. JoJo the Idiot Circus BoyJanuary 23, 2011 at 8:34 AM

    Eye loves me some Eno.

  3. can't wait to hear the bonus/live tracks!

  4. sholi, you're welcome. Keep coming back- I've got a shit-load of Wire to post in the future

  5. Anonymous, yes, this Japanese version is nice- most bonus track editions of this album only have two extra tracks

  6. CoCo the Electronic Monkey WizardJanuary 23, 2011 at 12:02 PM

    For some reason I always group these guys with Pere Ubu, Devo, Residents, Negativland. Looking forward to lossless! Danke Schön!

  7. downloading now, thanks again scurfie!

  8. A thousand thanks. Perhaps the '95 Japanese reissue of Wire's 'Chairs Missing' is in the wings?

  9. Hi Anon., I might have that one. If I do, I'll post it in the coming weeks ~ voixautre

  10. Anon, I have the '94 reissue of "Chairs Missing," with 18 tracks

  11. but I do have the '95 Japanese re-issue of "154"

  12. The '94 Chairs Missing would be fab too, thanks. The super-extra bonus tracks on the '95 Japanese edition can be found elsewhere (on the Behind The Curtain compilation, also worthy of folks' attention).

  13. Anon. I'll try to get more Wire on the blog in the coming weeks

  14. Sholi has it bang on . . . F@CKING AWESOME, alright! THANK-YOU!!!
    - martwwa

  15. Sir this fine selection is totaly becoming of a bespoke gentleman such as yourself...My heartfelt thanks crowe


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.