Saturday, February 19, 2011

Nicolas Jaar- Space Is Only Noise (2011) MP3 & FLAC

More fascinating pastiche than anything else, Nicolas Jaar's debut Space Is Only Noise is too introverted to be labeled techno and too spaciously comfortable to be labeled minimalist. However, Jaar is clearly out to deconstruct such genre-reifying labels, and does so by weaving together disparate textures such as subterranean beats, glitches and static, impressionistic piano passages, stringed instruments, heavily treated vocals, ambient recordings, and samples to create a strangely cohesive and stunningly singular listening experience. Don't let the breakbeats fool you, this is music that quietly demands to be contemplated rather than quickly consumed. Needless to say, this is quite a contrarian move for someone considered to be one of the rising young stars on the techno scene. Highly recommended.

Space Is Only Noise
 1. Être  (4:49)
 2. Colomb  (3:23)
 3. Sunflower  (0:49)
 4. Too Many Kids Finding Rain in the Dust  (3:28)
 5. Keep Me There  (5:22)
 6. I Got a Woman  (4:09)
 7. Problems with the Sun  (3:52)
 8. Space Is Only Noise If You Can See  (5:42)
 9. Almost Fell  (2:32)
10. Balance Her in Between Your Eyes  (3:46)
11. Specters of the Future  (1:59)
12. Trace  (0:23)
13. Variations  (3:21)
14. Être  (2:57)


  1. good work fella, really appreciate what you're doing here. Keep up the good work, you're improving the quality of my listening pleasure.

  2. thanks anonymous, I really appreciate your input. Let me know if you ever have any requests. I also post on We Like It Lossless!

  3. Thanks a lot, I couldn't get this off WLIL due to some problem with fileserve so I appreciate you putting it up on Megaupload.

  4. anonymous, I'm not sure what the attraction is to Fileserve; I've always found MU to be quite reliable. I'm glad you were able to get it here, thanks again

  5. I want to write something right here that is pithy. Can you help me? ;) Btw, I made my first post on SC. Woohoo!

  6. Pete Tong on Radio 1 raves on about this guy.
    Will have to check this out. Thank you.

  7. Yes this killing moon music clog, is wonderful.
    I love listening to all this music it has opened my ears to many new music experiences. thank's one million..

  8. Obe, thank you for your kind words. It is comments like yours that make this blog worth doing. Keep coming back! ~ voixautre

  9. Great album. Great review/summary. Thanks voixautre! The sort of sounds you post on this blog are invaluable to my ears. Keep up the good work.



Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.