Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Tim Buckley Series, #3: Tim Buckley- S/T (1966) Deluxe Edition (Bonus Disc) MP3 & FLAC

"You've got the untortured mind of a woman who has answered all the questions before."

Tim Buckley's eponymous debut has long been saddled with the title "Buckley's most conventional album," and while this may be true to some extent, it should be remembered that such a statement is usually made in reference to Buckley's uncompromising later work, which has a way of making almost anything compared to it sound conventional. In actuality, Tim Buckley, while clearly bearing the imprint of its time, is redolent with hints of the idiosyncratic brilliance that would make Buckley's later albums so distinctive. The album's back-story is the stuff of legend: Buckley, toiling away in an OC band called The Bohemians, takes a drive with some of his band-mates up the 405 to Hollywood to see The Mothers of Invention play. As it turns out, Buckley's bassist had briefly worked in a guitar store with Zappa's then-drummer, who decides to mention The Bohemians to Zappa's then-manager, Herb Cohen. Of course, Cohen recognizes Buckley's genius immediately but has no interest in the rest of the band; thus, Buckley is reborn as a solo artist. Cohen manages to land his new discovery a deal at Elektra, and the label's figurehead Jack Holzman takes a personal interest in the project, enlisting the legendary Paul Rothchild to man the production booth along with engineer Bruce Botnick (they would also helm The Doors' debut around the same time). Holzman spares no expense, bringing in well-known session players (such as Van Dyke Parks and Lee Underwood) and an arranger for strings (the inimitable Jack Nitzsche) to add further ornamentation to the sound. Reportedly recorded in a mere two days, Tim Buckley can best be described as an overly fussed-over, sometimes over-melodramatic, yet often masterful piece of baroque mid-sixties folk-pop. On the lead single, "Wings," Buckley's wonderfully expressive voice marries nicely with the almost-too-pretty arrangement, which is augmented by some gorgeous guitar chime from Lee Underwood. Buckley turns in a powerful performance; his voice often overpowering the syrupy string arrangement. While Buckley's nascent experimental tendencies are mostly kept at bay by Holzman and co., they do flicker into the foreground on "Song Slowly Song," a free-flowing, almost improvisational song that features one of Buckley's more unconventionally understated vocal performances. This is one of those albums that I've tended to overlook, but going back and listening again has reminded me what an impressive debut this was- and then I recall he was all of nineteen at the time!

Tim Buckley (2011 Rhino Handmade Deluxe Remastered Edition)

Disc I: Tim Buckley (2011 Remaster)
Stereo Version-
 1. I Can't See You  (2:43)
 2. Wings  (2:36)
 3. Song of the Magician  (3:08)
 4. Strange Street Affair Under Blue  (3:14)
 5. Valentine Melody  (3:45)
 6. Aren't You That Girl  (2:08)
 7. Song Slowly Song  (4:16)
 8. It Happens Every Time  (1:52)
 9. Song for Janie  (2:46)
10. Grief in My Soul  (2:08)
11. She Is  (3:09)
12. Understand Your Man  (3:06)
Mono Version-
13. I Can't See You  (2:43)
14. Wings  (2:36)
15. Song of the Magician  (3:08)
16. Strange Street Affair Under Blue  (3:14)
17. Valentine Melody  (3:45)
18. Aren't You That Girl  (2:08)
19. Song Slowly Song  (4:16)
20. It Happens Every Time  (1:52)
21. Song for Janie  (2:46)
22. Grief in My Soul  (2:08)
23. She Is  (3:09)
24. Understand Your Man  (3:06)

Disc II: Previously Unreleased
The Bohemians Demos-
 1. Put You Down  (2:25)
 2. It Happens Every Time  (2:04)
 3. Let Me Love You  (2:25)
 4. I've Played That Game Before  (2:45)
 5. She Is  (3:07)
 6. Here I Am  (2:49)
 7. Don't Look Back  (2:35)
 8. Call Me If You Do  (2:45)
 9. You Today  (2:45)
10. No More  (2:45)
11. Won't You Please Be My Woman  (2:35)
12. Come on Over  (2:09)
Acoustic Demos-
13. She Is  (2:50)
14. Aren't You That Girl  (2:04)
15. Found at the Scene of a Rendezvous That Failed (Larry Beckett Vocal)  (1:52)
16. Wings  (2:25)
17. My Love Is for You  (2:02)
18. Song Slowly Song  (3:42)
19. Song Introductions by Larry Beckett  (0:39)
20. I Can't See You  (3:05)
21. Birth Day (Larry Beckett Vocal)  (1:34)
22. Long Tide  (1:42)


  1. Tim Buckley's first has been overshadowed by all that has followed it (sometimes just by the sheer controversy of Tim's later work). However, it is an excellent debut filled with strong material and performances. Over time it has become one of my favorites by Tim. The deluxe edition is like a gift frpm the gods. Thanks so much for sharing the Rhini deluxe edition. Kurt

  2. this is the singular tim buckley album i was missing - the second disc from the Rhino Deluxe version. have all his CDs :-)

  3. Thanks for this voixautre ... and the brilliant Paisley Underground Series!! I realise I didn't know much about either of them ... really enjoy folling your posts ...

  4. Kurt, my pleasure. It was nowhere to be found in cyberspace, so I bought it (beautiful packaging)

  5. Anon. keep following the series because I still may have a few surprises for you ;)

  6. Issi, always good to hear from you. I'm having a lot of fun with both series, and the best is yet to come

  7. Thank you, voixautre. I love these Rhino reissues and I can't wait to listen to this remaster. I also hope that all of Tim's records will follow the same path one day.

  8. Michael, me too, although I have a new Japanese remaster of "Starsailor," which I'll post later in the series (I'm thinking of stretching it to 20, not sure)

  9. That would be great as well! For me "Starsailor" is second only to "Goodbye And Hello". Most people would probably disagree with me but as my music taste tends to be more and more pop-oriented as years go by, that's how it is.

  10. Hi Michael, my favs are "Dream Letter," "Blue Afternoon" and "Happy/Sad"

  11. "Happy/Sad" gets my vote, but I've yet to hear "Blue Afternoon." Thanks for the posts, there's always something here to intrigue and delight.

  12. Narrowed_eyes, thank you for the comment. I think I'd have a hard time picking between the three actually. You're right, "Happy/Sad" is a lovely album poised right between his folky stage and the more avant stuff that followed

  13. So, way back in late 1969 or early 1970 I purchased Zapped, the Bizarre/Straight Records sampler LP. And as I worked my way through Alice Cooper, Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band, Judy Henske & Jerry Yester, Wild Man Fisher, Lord Buckley, and The GTO's, I suddenly stopped dead in my tracks when I first heard "I Must Have Been Blind" from Tim Buckley's Blue Afternoon. That song took my breath away and my musical tastes changed forever. If anyone on this thread has not heard Blue Afternoon please seek it out immediately! Kurt

  14. Kurt, yes, "Blue Afternoon" is probably my favorite. I will definitely post it in FLAC (my own EAC rip) later in the series


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.