Saturday, December 18, 2010

Echo & The Bunnymen- Crocodiles (1980) MP3 & FLAC

"Stars are stars and they shine so hard."

Fuck, can this really be 30 years old?!? This is the debut album from the original incarnation of Echo & the Bunnymen (that "other" band from Liverpool). If your only reference to Echo & the Bunnymen is "Bring on the Dancing Horses," then Crocodiles, a dark, brooding Post-Punk masterpiece, will be something of a revelation. While lead vocalist Ian McCulloch and the rhythm section comprised of the late Pete De Freitas (drums) and Les Pattinson (Bass) are in fine form here, Crocodiles is perhaps lead guitarist Will Sergeant's finest hour, a tour de force of Post-Punk guitar textures. Yes, the lyrics are a bit cryptic at times, and for some, it may seem an overly gloomy affair, but it is never anything less than original, and in my opinion, this is essential listening.

Crocodiles (2003 Remastered Edition)
 1. Going Up  (4:02)
 2. Stars Are Stars  (2:48)
 3. Pride  (2:41)
 4. Monkeys  (2:49)
 5. Crocodiles  (2:41)
 6. Rescue  (4:29)
 7. Villiers Terrace  (2:47)
 8. Pictures on My Wall  (2:55)
 9. All That Jazz  (2:48)
10. Happy Death Men  (5:00)
-Bonus Tracks-
11. Do It Clean  (2:49)
12. Read It in Books  (2:34)
13. Simple Stuff  (2:38)
14. Villiers Terrace (Early Version)  (3:08)
15. Pride (Early Version)  (2:54)
16. Simple Stuff (Early Version)  (2:37)
17. Crocodiles (Live, Shine So Hard EP)  (5:09)
18. Zimbo (Live, Shine So Hard EP)  (3:36)
19. All That Jazz (Live, Shine So Hard EP)  (2:53)
20. Over the Wall (Live, Shine So Hard EP)  (5:28)


  1. Thank you for this one from EATB as well!

  2. Thank you for this. I wore this record out back in the day, my gloomy gloomy post-punk high school daze.

  3. yoyodyne, I remember those daze fondly :)

  4. Thanks a lot for all posts of The Echo!

  5. André Luiz, this was one of my first posts. Seems like ages ago.

  6. The snow pic was a secret gig at Buxton Pavillion Gardens in Debyshire - I went to this where they recorded the Shine So Hard EP - and it is my voice doing the 1,2,3,4 intro to All That Jazz from that ep


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.